top of page
  • Writer's picturejordan69076

Why the "Mental Hospital" Facebook Game is not Accurate

Updated: May 10, 2021

There was a new Facebook game that has been going around where you tag your friends in your chat on a post. It goes as follows:

This is hilarious! You have to do it without cheating...

I'm in a mental hospital

My roommate: Licks the glass: Help Escape: My Psychiatrist: Asleep in a corner: Shouts at everyone: Walks on all fours: Padded room: Eats the plants: Talks to themselves: Kicks the nurses: Believes they are a unicorn: Crazy nurse:

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 Make a copy-paste and delete the names... Then you type @ then the 1st letter of each beginning of sentence to see the name of one of your friends! (if one is already used, take the next one!!)


While I know it is just a simple game, some people may truly get offended by it. Why, you may ask? Simply because mental hospitals, or the politically correct term, psychiatric hospitals are not like that AT ALL. It could be a fun game with the "asleep in the corner" or the "my psychiatrist" labels. However, no one in a psychiatric hospital "acts like a unicorn" or "walks on all fours." That is simply insulting. One of my good friends in my inpatient was a schizophrenic. Another one of my good friends had dissociative identity disorder. This makes me sad because the stigma that surrounds mental health is so messed up and this shows just how uninformed many individuals are about the mental health field. For those who have been playing this game, please realize that some people may feel offended by this. I didn't want to say anything because I was afraid how people would react. However, I believe that in order to break the stigma, this needs to be addressed.


Again, I understand this is all just for fun and games, but having been in a psychiatric hospital, this game really upset me. We are all humans, we should not be mocking one another. Please think about who could be affected before you post. That is all we with mental illness ask for.


553 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page