top of page
  • Writer's picturejordan69076

Prose: Story of my Life

Content Warning: self-harm, eating disorders, sexual assault, and suicide


At age 6, you will learn to turn to food to be nurtured

At age 12, you will pick up something sharp for the first time

Age age 13, you will begin to fantasize your death

At age 15, you will have your firsts taken away by someone who doesn't deserve to love you

At age 16, you will become addicted to the feeling of your fingers in your throat

At age 18, you will become obsessed with the feeling of your stomach cramping after taking "magical weight loss" pills (laxatives)

At age 19, you will attempt to take your life for the first time

At age 20 and 21, you will be in eating disorder treatment fighting for your life.

At age 22, you will be discovering parts of your authentic self that you never thought existed.




Realizing that I can be genuinely funny without self-deprecating humor

is like trying to breath underwater.

The foreign feeling floods my body just like the water will flood my lungs.

It hurts really bad; it's excruciating.

Coming to terms with the fact that my body is truly the least interesting thing about me is also foreign.

I still had good friends at a higher weight.

I need to stop destroying my body to make myself feel adequate.

I have always been enough.

It's time that I hold onto the reins of the horse that symbolizes my life and learn to ride the waves that the ocean throws at me.

Nothing is impossible,

Not even self-compassion, recovery, and hopefulness.

This journey of self-discovery comes with so much hurt and pain

However, it also comes with so much joy and pride.

To my inner child, we are almost there.

We are almost back to being our authentic selves.

Hold on, my dear. It is going to be a wild ride.




34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page